Leadership Updates at the CCJ

The UBC Centre for Climate Justice is excited to announce the following changes to our leadership team! 

Professor Jess Dempsey’s term as our Interim Co-Director concluded successfully in July 2023, and we want to sincerely thank her for her hard work and dedication to the CCJ. Jess is a founding member of the CCJ, and her energy and vision has been essential to its growth. We look forward to continuing to work with her as she remains an active member of our Executive Committee. 

We are incredibly excited to welcome Professors Kavita Philip and Hannah Wittman as our incoming Co-Directors and announce Professor Naomi Klein’s title change to Director of Public Engagement. 

Headshot of Kavita PhilipKavita Philip is the President’s Excellence Chair in Network Cultures at UBC, Professor of English, and Associated Faculty in Geography and STS.




Hannah Wittman is a Professor in the Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability and the Faculty of Land and Food Systems.